Race, Ethnicity, Equity, and Inclusion

“There shall be a Committee on Race, Ethnicity, Equity, and Inclusion consisting of faculty, students, staff, and administrators. The members shall be appointed by the Senate. In addition, the Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer shall be ex officio member. The Committee on Race, Ethnicity, Equity, and Inclusion shall be charged with reviewing, making recommendations, providing support, leadership and advocacy for University policies, practices and programs regarding race, ethnicity, equity, and inclusion. The Committee shall report regularly to the Senate on matters of race and ethnicity and associated intersectionalities relating to traditionally under-represented racial and ethnic groups in enrollment, staffing, equal opportunity and access, and grievance procedures. The Committee on Race, Ethnicity, Equity and Inclusion will acknowledge the intersection of multiple marginalized identities and will intentionally collaborate with the other identity-based Senate committees.”

(From the BYLAWS OF THE SENATE OF SYRACUSE UNIVERSITY, ARTICLE V. STANDING COMMITTEES, Section 18, as amended during the 2020-21 session of the University Senate.)

Diversity Reports (Login Required)


Chancellor Kent Syverud
Ex Officio

Mary Grace Almandrez
Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion

Jorge Castillo
LGBTQ Resource Center

James Duah-Agyeman 
Multicultural Affairs

Biko Gray
The College of Arts and Sciences

Carrie Ingersoll-Wood
Disability Cultural Center

Gretchen Lopez
The School of Education

Joseph Dominic Lore
Facility Services

Suzette Melendez (Chair)
College of Law

Rebecca Reed Kantrowitz
Hendricks Chapel

Cory Wallack
The Barnes Center

Rachel Walters
Parent Engagement/Student Experience

Abingo Wu
The School of Architecture