Appointment and Promotions

“The Committee on Appointment and Promotions shall study standards for original appointment to the faculty of the University, for promotion, and for granting tenure. The committee shall recommend to the Senate procedure for obtaining recognition of standards by the several colleges, schools and departments. It shall foster in the various colleges, schools and departments appropriate procedure for handling appointments, decisions of tenure and promotion. It shall audit all decisions of appointment, promotion and granting of tenure and may request testimony before it of appropriate deans, department chairmen and other officials. College decisions on promotions and granting of tenure may be appealed to this committee by either the candidate or the department, provided that the grievance pertains to procedural matters. The Committee on Academic Freedom, Tenure and Professional Ethics shall continue to have jurisdiction in all appeals in which violation of academic freedom or professional ethics is alleged.”

(From the BYLAWS OF THE SENATE OF SYRACUSE UNIVERSITY, ARTICLE V. STANDING COMMITTEES, Section 9, as amended during the 2011-12 session of the University Senate.)

Appointment and Promotions Reports (Login Required)


Chancellor Kent Syverud
Ex Officio

Amanda Brown
The College of Arts and Sciences

Tom Bujanovic
The College of Engineering and Computer Science

Jennifer DeLucia
College of Visual and Performing Arts

Kishi Ducre
The College of Arts and Sciences

Sarah Hall
The College of Arts and Sciences

William Horrace
The College of Arts and Sciences

Osamah Khalil
The College of Arts and Sciences

Yingyi Ma
The College of Arts and Sciences

David Perez II
School of Education

Natalie Russo
The College of Arts and Sciences