Honorary Degrees

“The Committee on Honorary Degrees shall recommend to the Senate candidates for such degrees, except as provided for in Article IV, Section 5, when it shall make its recommendations to the Agenda Committee. Nominations for degrees will be invited from all members of the University community. This Committee shall have exclusive responsibility for recommending to the Senate candidates for Honorary Degrees at the spring commencement, except for the commencement speaker. If a speaker is to be awarded an Honorary Degree, names of several potential speakers shall be recommended to the Honorary Degree Committee by a committee appointed by the Chancellor. The Honorary Degree Committee will transmit the names selected to the Senate for its action. Individual colleges and schools may on appropriate occasions award Honorary Degrees, but no school or college may award more than one such degree for a special occasion in any one academic year. Nominations for such degrees will be made to the Senate through the Honorary Degree Committee with the committee’s recommendation for action. Approved candidates for Honorary Degrees shall remain on the active list for a period of four years. After four years if either they have not been invited or it has not been possible to award such degrees in person, the names will be dropped from the list of approved candidates. Such persons may be renominated. No Honorary Degree will be awarded in absentia. The selection of Honorary Degree recipients will be made from the Senate-approved active list by the appropriate committee of the Board of Trustees in consultation with the Chancellor and the Senate Committee.”

(From the BYLAWS OF THE SENATE OF SYRACUSE UNIVERSITY, ARTICLE V. STANDING COMMITTEES, Section 17, as amended during the 2011-12 session of the University Senate.)

Honorary Degrees Reports (Login Required)


Chancellor Kent Syverud
Ex Officio

Melissa Almeyda
The College of Visual and Performing Arts

Michel Benaroch
The Martin J. Whitman School of Management

John Boccacino

Rania Habib 
The College of Arts and Sciences

Radha Kumar
The College of Arts and Sciences

Maximus Short
Student Association

Andrew Vogel
The College of Arts and Sciences